MUSIC: MY PANDA SHALL FLY INTERVIEW & SHOOT (SUPERSUPER! VOL 2 #004)

My Panda Shall Fly (named after a fun day out at Alton Towers!) is the project of one Suren Seneviratne, a South London-based fine artist/producer with an ear for music and an eye for fun. His “sun-kissed Tibetan crunk” sound will be big news in 2k12! 

SS: Your debut EP, Sorry It Took So Long, only dropped in April. What’s the story there?

SS: It’s a dig at ourselves [the original three MPSF members] for having never released anything in all our years of making music. When I took on the name as a solo project, I didn’t want to release anything – I never felt it was good enough. SS: How do you think MPSF’s sound has evolved since you started out?

SS: MPSF was born out of a weekly book club that gathered downstairs in a church in West London. We would wear furry headgear, play instruments and dance around like idiots till the early morning. Unfortunately, it’s evolved into something a little tamer…

SS: You’re Sri Lankan born and London raised. Would you say that elements of both worlds have left an impression on your music?

SS: I didn’t quite realise how incredible Sri Lanka was until I packed up and moved to London. The climate, the wildlife and the people are so different. Not better nor worse – just amazingly different.

SS: We love your style! Where do you find most of your clothes?

SS: I’ve always loved clothes, and collected them since my late teens. Much to my mom’s dismay, I often came home from outings with at least a couple of bags of amazing/weird clothes I’d found in charity shops. She let this slide for a couple of years until she’d had enough and gave me an ultimatum: clothes or family. I moved out the following week.

SS: Do you have any exciting projects in the works?

SS: I’m working on a number of music and art-based projects, and want to and release some other types of music that I didn’t have the chance to last year. My next EP is coming out in March, and I’ve just completed a concept album based on the fantastical, exotic and mystical with my engineer and co-producer Asier Leatxe. It’s like nothing I’ve ever created before – it’s a really special project for me.

SS: What’s your biggest hope this year?

SS: I hope to own a yacht by the end of 2k12.

SS: … and your biggest fear?

SS: That I might have to obtain a pilot’s license or whatever.

 

Interview: Charlotte McManus

Photography: Billa Baldwin

soundcloud.com/mpsf

About Charlotte McManus

Editor for LOGO.ec and Trendstop.com Freelance writer - The Creator's Project, SUPERSUPER!, Don't Panic, FAULT, Flux, Who's Jack & more.

Posted on 14/03/2012, in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Billy the Beast

    LEGEND.

Leave a Reply

