FASHION: TOM NIJHUIS INTERVIEW (SUPERSUPER! VOL 2 #004)

Getting fashion-types everywhere talking with his hardcore gabber dance-inspired /1995 collection last year, up-and-coming Dutch designer Tom Nijhuis is now cutting his teeth interning at Louis Vuitton (fancy!). As he considers a 2k12 MA in London (YES PLEASE!), we get up close and personal…

SS: With my designs, I try to…

TN: Push the boundaries of womenswear. I like the rules in menswear, and apply them to women a little bit. It’s an ongoing thing in my designs.

SS: The kind of person who would wear my designs would be…

TN: Fed up with a lot of things. I can imagine the person as young and uncompromising. But it should be fun though, that you can dress up!

SS: If I described my own personal style…

TN: Straightforward, no excuse, youth culture – and a love for materials.

SS: My creative process is…

TN: Research, listening to music, and looking for garments, jewellery and shoes. When those things match up, I start drawing and making samples.

SS: I really like the word…

TN: ‘Alors’ – I just moved to Paris, and my French is crap! I think it sounds really French, so I’m just flopping it out all the time…

SS: When I was growing up, I wanted to be…

TN: An astronaut! It would be great to see the world from a great distance. I’d sign right up for the Virgin Galactic space venture, if I had $200, 000 bucks…

SS: Someone I really admire is…

TN: Azzedine Alaia. I love his way of sculpting clothes onto the body. He doesn’t care about the summer, winter and pre-collection seasons – it’s all about the clothes.

SS: I’m secretly scared of…

TN: Finding places to live. I’m so unfortunate with that. In New York I ended up living with a man who was an unemployed stoner with five cats – he slept on the floor between cat bowls. Now, in Paris, I’m living with this guy who sleeps in his own kitchen with his clothes on – he never opens a window. Imagine the smell – you can’t, it’s sheer terror.

SS: My guilty pleasure is…

TN: Getting drunk and breaking the law. Rebel without a cause. Life can be so fucking boring, so I love it when people oppose it.

SS: If I had to be a celebrity for the day, I’d be…

TN: Bear Grylls.

SS: My favourite thing about fashion is…

TN: Beautiful garments! The love for a garment can be as good as loving a person. I hope that doesn’t sound too sad…

SS: My least favourite thing about fashion is…

TN: The pace and quantity. There’s so much crap out there because of the pressure of the seasons – but the pressure is love and hate, it pushes you forward.

SS: My perfect date would be…

TN: I spotted this little boathouse in Central Park New York that looked like the most romantic place in the world.

SS: My favourite party song is…

TN: Misfits – ‘Last Caress’. I dived on a table at a party once (knocking over a lot of drinks) because of that song. Awesome.

 

Interview: Charlotte McManus

www.tomnijhuis.com

 

About Charlotte McManus

Editor for LOGO.ec and Trendstop.com Freelance writer - The Creator's Project, SUPERSUPER!, Don't Panic, FAULT, Flux, Who's Jack & more.

Posted on 14/03/2012, in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

