MUSIC: BUTTERCLOCK INTERVIEW (SUPERSUPER! VOL 1 #24)

Butterclock is Laura Clock, a Berlin-based artist creating her own brand of hazy, down-tempo R&B. Her debut EP is set to be released in April, followed by an album in July – it’s clear that this is one act with her eye on the time…

G A Y R A V E P R O M

_If I had to define my sound, ‘I would see it as a gay rave prom – l would be the homecoming drag queen, crying behind golden curtains! I don’t really identify myself with anyone else, but l wish l could dance like Ciara… I am working on it //

D E V I A T I O N S

_I’m always leaning toward deviations; being stuck to a genre (and stigmatised for it) is very boring. But l guess my music will still be ‘dark’ – somehow l can’t kick the melancholy inside of me. Dark R&B has always been my thing //

B E G I N N I N G S

_When l was 12/13, I recorded myself on tapes, singing on top of some Warren G tracks or something… I was already doing mixtape covers without even knowing it. Then l went through a way darker goth period. Today, the result is a mix of both, l guess. I really like rap – dirty south beats, big basses… I also need to be in very cold, icy places to feel inspired. I am not a tropical person //

V A L I U M P O P

_I like to cover pop classics late at night, on Valium. I have an attraction/repulsion relationship with pop. It’s up to you to guess which side is more important. What is pop or not is subjective anyway. I’m working on some songs with oOoOO, and I’ve exchanged a few emails with Nike7UP (for now) We all originally met in Disneyland… //

 

Interview: Charlotte McManus

soundcloud.com/goldenbruise

About Charlotte McManus

Editor for LOGO.ec and Trendstop.com Freelance writer - The Creator's Project, SUPERSUPER!, Don't Panic, FAULT, Flux, Who's Jack & more.

Posted on 09/03/2012, in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

